Monday, September 19, 2016

Recherla Padmanayaka Dynasty

1326 AD - 1475 AD 

Capitals: Rachakonda and Devarakonda

1326 AD - 1361 AD : Singama nayaka-I
After Warangal was captured by Muslim rulers, Musunuri Nayakas revolted against them at around 1335 A.D. During that time, Kapaya nayaka Musunuri dynasty was helped by Singama nayaka. Later Singama nayaka had became independent and extended his kingdom towards the south upto the coast of river Krishna. 

1361 AD - 1384 AD Anavotha nayaka
Anavotha nayaka, son of Singama nayaka came to rule after his father and changed his capital from Amanagallu to Rachakonda. He, alongwith his brother Mada nayaka, fought several battles with the Kondaveeti Reddy rulers and Vijayanagara rulers. He also killed the Musunuri ruler Kapaya nayaka in 1368. He conquered the Warangal, Panagallu and Bhuvanagiri forts and took the title of “Tribhuvana Rayarao’. Anavotha nayaka attacked the Jallipalli fort, killed Soma dynasty rulers and took the title of ‘Somakula parasurama’. He divided his kingdom into Northern and Southern regions for ease of administration; made Rachakonda the capital of North and ruled it himself; made Devarakonda as the capital of South and appointed his younger brother Mada nayaka as its ruler.

Descendants of Anavotha nayaka ruled from Rachakonda and descendants of Mada nayaka ruled from Devarakonda.
1384 AD - 1399 AD : Singama nayaka-II
He be friended to the Bahmani Sultans and defeated the Vijayanagara rulers, with their help, when they attacked the Telangana region. 
1399 AD -1421 AD : Anavotha nayaka-II
Fought battles with Kondaveeti and Rajamahendravaram Reddy rulers and Vijayanagara rulers along with the Bahmani sultans. But his friendship with the Bahmani sultans did not last long. When Vijayanagara rulers captured the Panagallu region in 1417, they fought with the then Bahmani sultan Feroz Shah. During this war, the Recharla's helped the Vijayanagara rulers and Anavota nayaka died in battle.
1421 AD - 1430 AD : Madanayaka
After the battle of Panagallu, the recherla's maintained enmity with the Bahmani Sultans and helped the Vijayanagara rulers in every way they could. During the battle between Ahmed Shah (Bahmani sultan) and Devaraya-II in 1424, Madanayaka helped the latter. Because of this, though Ahmed Shah made peace with Devaraya after the battle was over, he sent his deputy, Azam Khan to capture Warangal (kingdom of Mada nayaka). In this battle, Azam Khan captured not only Warangal,but also many forts in Rachakonda and Devarakonda kingdoms. 
1430 AD - 1475 AD : Singama nayaka-III
Singama nayaka-III was the son of Anavotha nayaka and was the last ruler of his dynasty.
The Recharla made an accord with the Bahmani sultans in 1433. Ahmed Shah occupied the fort of Rayagiri. The region of Rachakonda was captured by Bahmani Sultans between 1433-35. Recherla nayakas recaptured the fort of Devarakonda with the help of Kapileswara Gajapati and continued to reclaim all other forts under the Muslims. According to the inscription of Hariveeradeva, of 1461, the Recharla rulers regained the Warangal fort also. Hariveeradeva, who issued the above inscription was the son of Kapileswara Gajapati. The army of Gajapatis who helped the Recherla Nayaks was under his control.
Dharmanayudu, brother of Singama nayaka-III was appointed as the ruler of Warangal. He issued the ‘Shayampet inscription’ in l462 A.D. Later, Warangal remained under the ruler of Recharla nayakas for two decades. During the reign of Sultan Nizam Shah, the muslim rulers again tried to capture forts in Rachakonda and Devarakonda kingdoms but the armies of Kapileswara Gajapati, sent to help the Recharla rulers prevented this. But the Recherla nayakas had became subordinate kings to Kapileswara Gajapati. After Singama nayaka, the Recharla kingdom declined and their descendants took shelter in the court of Vijayanagara rulers.