Friday, January 3, 2014

Rangareddy History

Ranga Reddy District was formed on 15th August, 1978 by carving out some portion of Hyderabad Urban Taluk & the merger of the entire Rural and Urban Areas of the remaining Taluks of Erstwhile Hyderabad District.

The Name of the District was Hyderabad (Rural) to begin with. It was changed as K.V. Ranga Reddy District and later on Ranga Reddy District. It was named after famous freedom fighter  and Deputy Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh Sri K.V. Ranga Reddy.

The district encircles the city and district of Hyderabad, and the city of Hyderabad also serves as the administrative center of the district. The district headquarters is Vikarabad. The district has 1055 villages grouped into 37 mandals.

Location : The District is located in the Central Part of the Deccan Plateau and lies between 160 30' and 180 20' of North Latitude and 77030' and 79030' of East Longitudes.

Boundaries : The District is bounded on the North by Medak District, East by Nalgonda District, South by Mahaboobnagar District, West by Gulbarga District & North West of Bidar District of Karnataka State. It covers an area of 7564.88 Sq. Kms.

Ranga Reddy District is at the cross roads of India geographically, historically and has been the meeting ground for the fusion of various civilisations, religions, races, cultures, languages and traditions with the twin cities of Hyderabad and Secunderabad as its core.

This District including present Hyderabad Urban District was formerly known as Atrafe- Balda District and was a part of the gulshanabad, Medak Division (Subah). In 1931-34 Baghat taluk from Atraf-e-Balda District was made a separate Baghat District under the Commissioner (Subedar) of Medak Division. After police Action in 1948., Atraf-a-Balda and Baghat District were merged to from the Hyderabad District. Later in 1978, it was split into Hyderabad Urban District and Hyderabad Rural District or Ranga Reddy District.

Administrative Divisions : Prior to 25-5-1985, the District was administered with 3 Revenue Divisions and 11 taluks . These Taluks had been further sub-divided into 42 Firkas, Each of which in turn consists of a Number of Villages.

However 11 erstwhile Taluks were delimited into 10 Panchayat Samithis, almost coterminus with the taluks except for a few minor changes in respect of Medchal, Hayathnagar, Ibrahimpatnam, Maheshwaram and Rajendranagar Taluks.

300 BC - 185 BC :  Mauryan Empire

230 BC  – 220 AD : Satavahanas  ( Were vassals of Mauryan Empire)​

220 AD - 250 AD : Ikshvaku Tribe

250 AD - 500 AD : Vakataka Dynasty

500 AD - 543 AD : Vishnukundins
Keesaragutta was constructed during the Vishnukundin period (an Indian dynasty that controlled parts of the country during the 5th and 6th centuries AD).

543 AD - 753 AD : Badami Chalukyas

753 AD - 982 AD : Rashtrakuta Dynasty

982 AD - 1158 AD : Western Chalukyas (Kalyani Chalukyas)

1158 AD - 1323 AD : Kakatiya Dynasty

1323 AD - 1336 AD : Tughlaq Dynasty

1325 AD – 1350 AD : Musunuri Nayaks

1518 AD – 1687 AD : Qutbshahis / Golconda Sultanate

1687 AD - 1724 AD : Mughal Empire 

1724 AD - 1948 AD : Asaf Jahis